The Travel Trolley

American Airlines agrees to give up slots as part of settlement

American Airlines will stop serving a number of communities nationwide as part of an agreement to settle lawsuits with the U.S. Department of Justice, the District of Columbia, Arizona, Florida, Michigan, Tennessee, Pennsylvania and Virginia.

The lawsuits stemmed from American’s merger with U.S. Airways. The divestitures will enable American Airlines and US Airways to complete their merger.

As part of the agreement, American will give up slots at Washington Reagan National Airport and New York LaGuardia Airport. As a result of the 52 slot pair divestitures at Washington Reagan National Airport the airline will no longer operate year-round, daily nonstop service to 17 destinations from Washington Reagan National Airport:

  • Augusta, Ga.
  • Detroit, Mich.
  • Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Fort Walton Beach, Fla.
  • Islip, N.Y.
  • Jacksonville, N.C.
  • Little Rock, Ark.
  • Minneapolis, Minn.
  • Montreal
  • Myrtle Beach, S.C.
  • Nassau, Bahamas
  • Omaha, Neb.
  • Pensacola, Fla.
  • San Diego, Calif.
  • Savannah, Ga.
  • Tallahassee, Fla.
  • Wilmington, N.C.

Customers in these communities will still have access to Washington Reagan National Airport, which remains a key hub for American, through connecting flights from one or more of the airline’s other eight hubs.

Effective dates for the changes at Washington Reagan National Airport will be announced after the sale of slots and related assets is finalized in the coming weeks. American is currently working through the DOJ-approved divestiture process which includes transition agreements with acquiring airlines to minimize the disruption to customers.

About The Travel Trolley

Hop on board. The Travel Trolley is aimed at capturing the history and charm of roadside attractions.